In Transit

I finally made it to Quito! Upon arrival at my hostel at 12 am I derpped on my computer for a while and then collapsed in exhaustion from my >30 hour journey. I passed out for about eleven hours and I’m pretty sure there were times when I couldn’t move my legs.

My Vancouver-> Quito experience was slightly more eventful than most other flights I’ve experienced (but not SUPER fascinating. Don’t get too excited). Here’s the lowdown:

Pros: Delta Airlines overbooked their flight from Los Angeles to Atlanta, and as a result offered me a 600$ voucher and a night in a hotel if I took a later flight. I cordially accepted. Looks like I have my 2015 San Diego Comic Con plane tickets.

Cons: They lost my baggage. It should arrive here tonight.

The most sought after things after a 30 hour flight are 1. brush teeth, 2. shower and wash hair, 3. fresh set of clothes, and 4. sleep for eleven hours. Due to the absence of my baggage, I thus far have only accomplished one of these four tasks.

Travel tip: If you have room on your carry-on bag, bring a spare change of clothes. Particularly fresh socks and underwear. Airlines losing bags is not uncommon.

I will post again on how my days in Quito will transpire. I thus far have not left my hostel room due to my current lack of hygiene.

Figure 1. Obligatory photograph of my hostel in Quito.

The above photograph was taken at Kingdom Kichwa guesthouse and depicts an abundance of beds.

Leave a comment